I Am A Cat Who Ponders

About Me (in case you were wondering)

I was born in a barn, on a farm in Devon, England. My mother nurtured me well and then I was adopted by a human pair – husband and wife – who named me Cato after a wise man who lived long ago and far away. My humans have loved me and continued to provide for my needs, even though they have caused me some anxiety by moving me from familiar territory to a land far away.

A few years after I joined their household, my humans (hereafter known as “providers” because that is what they do – provide for all my needs) moved to Canada and brought me along with them, of course. We live in a city now, near the western sea and mountains. It has taken awhile, but I have adjusted. Creatures and humans speak with odd inflections in this city, but otherwise share most of the quirks and qualities of those in my former homeland. I hope to capture some of this in my blog.

 

The Adventure Begins…

As you may have gathered, I lead a rather cushy life compared to many felines. That hasn’t stopped me from encountering other cats, dogs and humans whose circumstances differ greatly from my own. Our neighbourhood, close to the centre of a large city, is home to a wide variety of creatures from many different parts of the world. My wanderings through back yards, streets and alleyways has given me much to think about these last few years.

My providers find this to be the case too. Little do they know that their beloved cat listens with ears perked up whenever they speak about the things of life. They are a book-reading, computer-savvy pair who seem to enjoy long discussions with other humans. They even speak to me, albeit in syrupy tones and accompanied by much stroking and kissing. The singing is a bit much and mostly consists of songs with lyrics too silly to mention here.  I put up with it because they clean up my hairballs without complaining – well, not too much – and feed me good quality food.

Best of all, they leave me alone in the house for hours at a time. They think I spend all my time sleeping, but I have a much greater purpose in mind than dreaming about bird hunting. You see, many of the afore-mentioned discussions between humans take place on the computer, that most wondrous of machines. I sit for hours and watch how they use the finger boards (I believe they call them keyboards, though what those little plastic buttons have to do with keys I do not know). I notice what happens on the monitor and how the little contraption they call a “mouse” hunts for and catches special words and codes that open up colourful, intriguing worlds. Surely no one would expect a thinking cat to resist such a challenge.

May I share some of my ponderings with you? Now that I have learned how to communicate on this device, it would be most gratifying to know that others out there in the wired world are listening to me and perhaps responding with insights of their own. Mostly listening to me, though.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Photo credit:http://www.flickr.com/photos/beginasyouare/2232009748/

5 thoughts on “I Am A Cat Who Ponders

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Block « Thinking Things Through

  2. You’re so interesting! I do not think I’ve truly read
    something like this before. So good to discover another person with original thoughts on this issue.
    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This site is something that is required on the web, someone
    with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

